Hi, How Can We Help You?

Louisiana Fishing License: How and Where to Get One in 2024

Louisiana Fishing License: How and Where to Get One in 2024

Louisiana boasts many opportunities for fishing throughout the state. However, prior to dipping your fishing rod in the local waterways, you must get the right LA fishing license. Louisiana’s Department of Wildlife and Fisheries offers a variety of recreational and commercial fishing licenses for both LA residents and non-residents. Before applying for a fishing permit, you should figure out which one is best suited for the type of fishing you will be doing. Licenses are divided into basic (freshwater) licenses and saltwater licenses. A license to fish can be purchased in person or online using a PC or mobile device. Fines for fishing without a license in Louisiana can run up to $500, with additional fines for fish taken out of the water illegally. Though you can purchase separate licenses for freshwater and saltwater, there are also options for combination licenses such as the Sportsman’s Paradise option. You may also skip the annual licensing process and purchase lifetime licenses, if you plan on fishing regularly for the entirety of your time in Louisiana. Regardless of the type of license you choose, fishing licenses are necessary for catching marine wildlife in the state. For more information on the various LA permits, visit the Louisiana fishing pages.

Louisiana Saltwater Fishing License

Learning how to get a saltwater fishing license in Louisiana is simple. The main factor that affects the application process is whether or not you are a Louisiana resident. Residency status in Louisiana affects the amount you will have to pay to buy saltwater fishing licenses through the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF). To get a discount on your saltwater fishing license, it is recommended that you establish residency in Louisiana prior to completing the fishing license application. To learn more about getting residential and non-residential saltwater licenses through the LDWF, read below.

Learning how to get a saltwater fishing license in Louisiana is simple. The main factor that affects the application process is whether or not you are a Louisiana resident. Residency status in Louisiana affects the amount you will have to pay to buy saltwater fishing licenses through the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF). To get a discount on your saltwater fishing license, it is recommended that you establish residency in Louisiana prior to completing the saltwater fishing license application. To learn more about getting residential and non-residential licenses through LDWF, read below.

Louisiana Resident Saltwater Fishing License

Prior to purchasing a residential saltwater fishing permit, you must first establish your Louisiana residency. For saltwater permits, individuals must have resided in Louisiana for the six months directly prior to the day they submitted their fishing permit application. Additionally, you must meet the following requirements:

  • If you are registered to vote, you must be registered in Louisiana.
  • If you possess a driver’s license, it must be a valid Louisiana driver’s license.
  • If you own a vehicle parked in Louisiana, it must be registered with the Louisiana DMV.
  • You must follow Louisiana state tax regulations and/or have filed a Louisiana state income tax return.

The fee for an annual residential Louisiana saltwater license is $13. Furthermore, you must purchase a basic (freshwater) fishing license prior to purchasing a saltwater license. For more information on how to get a saltwater fishing license, check out the “How to Become a Licensed Fisherman eBook.”

Louisiana Nonresident Saltwater Fishing License

To get a saltwater fishing license as a nonresident in Louisiana, follow the same process as obtaining a residential credential. However, the fee for a non-residential saltwater fishing license is significantly higher at $30. The price for non-residential one-day saltwater fishing permits is $5.

Replace Louisiana Saltwater Fishing Licenses

When your Louisiana document has been lost or stolen, you will need to get a fishing license replacement before you can fish on Louisiana waters again legally. To get a saltwater fishing license copy, visit the LDWF website and click on the fishing license link.

Louisiana Saltwater Fishing License Fees

The last factor that you should concern yourself with when you are preparing to fish in the state of Louisiana is cost. As you are surely aware, it costs a certain amount of money to buy a license to saltwater fish in LA. But what you may not know is the wide range of costs that are related to the fishing licenses sold through the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries.

The list of saltwater fishing permit prices is as follows:

  • Resident annual saltwater license: $13
  • Basic resident fishing license (also required when you go saltwater fishing): $9.50
  • Louisiana Sportsman’s Paradise License (saltwater/freshwater fishing, hunting and more): $100
  • Resident disabled saltwater license: $2.50
  • Resident/nonresident military saltwater license: $5.50
  • Nonresident saltwater one-day trip license: $17.50
  • Nonresident saltwater season license: $30
    • The basic license is also required for this license.
  • Resident lifetime senior license: $50
  • Lifetime fishing license for individuals who are 14 and older: $300
  • Lifetime fishing license for individuals who are between the ages of 5 and 13: $200

Louisiana Freshwater Fishing License

Fishing for wildlife in Louisiana requires anglers to buy a fishing license through the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF). Basic fishing licenses in Louisiana can be used strictly for freshwater areas, while you will need a saltwater fishing license to venture out into saltwater areas. Getting fishing licenses through the LDWF requires you to follow the application process and indicate whether you are a resident or non-resident. Read on for more information on getting fishing permits in Louisiana.

Louisiana Freshwater Resident Fishing License

Buying a fishing license in Louisiana requires you to establish proof of residency with the LDWF. Individuals are considered residents of Louisiana as it pertains to a LDWF license to fish if they have resided in the state continuously for at least six months. The six-month period must be directly prior to the date you are applying for a basic resident fishing license. Additionally, you must meet the following requirements:

  • Voter card registered in Louisiana (if applicable)
  • Driver’s license must be registered in Louisiana (if applicable)
  • Car must be registered in Louisiana (if applicable)
  • Complied with Louisiana state tax laws and/or filed a Louisiana state income tax return

Louisiana residents with a license to fish or hunt from other states or countries are not eligible for a resident fishing license. The fee for the Louisiana basic residential fishing license is $9.50.

To purchase a basic resident fishing license, visit the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries fishing licensing system. There you will be able to complete a fishing license application. For more information, consult the “How to Become a Licensed Fisherman eBook.”

Louisiana Freshwater Non Resident Fishing License

Non-residents staying in Louisiana can purchase freshwater or basic fishing licenses from the LDWF as well. However, you will have to pay the higher non-residential fishing license fee of $60. Additional options include a one-day freshwater fish trip for $5. Non-residents who are students living in Louisiana for school can purchase these fishing licenses for the residential fee of $9.50, provided they present their student ID.

To purchase a basic non-resident fishing license, visit the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries fishing licensing system. You can also renew fishing licenses through this system as well.

Replace Louisiana Freshwater Fishing License

Replacing lost or stolen fishing licenses in Louisiana is fairly simple. The process is similar to the initial purchase of freshwater fishing licenses. Simply visit the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries fishing licensing system and request a replacement basic fishing license. You will need to provide identification information prior to paying the replacement fishing license fee.

In the event that you lose your basic fishing license, make sure to get it replaced before returning to your favorite fishing spot. You must have your basic fishing license on you at all times while catching wildlife in Louisiana waters. Visit the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries website for more information.

Senior/Disabled/Military Louisiana Freshwater Fishing License

The Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries offers discounts to certain groups such as senior citizens, disabled individuals and active/retired military members. For the purposes of fishing licensure, individuals are considered senior citizens if they turned 60 on or after June 1, 2000. The price for senior fishing licenses is $5. Disabled individuals can purchase a disabled fishing license for a fee of $2.50.

Military member licenses to fish are divided by the individual’s status as active or retired. Active-duty military members stationed in Louisiana can get a basic fishing license for a fee of $9.50. Retired military members can purchase a basic fishing license for a fee of $5. The surviving spouse of a military member killed in action can purchase a basic fishing license for $2.50.

For more information on special-status basic fishing licenses, visit the Louisiana Department of Wildlife website.

Louisiana Freshwater Fishing License Fees

The most imperative step in learning how to get fishing licenses in Louisiana is learning how much it will cost to get a fishing license. Depending on your individual status and whether or not you are a Louisiana resident, freshwater fishing license fees may vary. The full list of basic fishing license fees is as follows:

  • Basic residential fishing license: $9.50
  • Basic non-residential fishing license: $60
  • Senior basic fishing license: $5
  • Active-duty military fishing license fee: $9.50
  • Retired military fishing license fee: $5
  • Surviving spouse of military member killed in action license fee: $2.50
  • Disabled fishing license: $2.50
  • Nonresident one-day basic fishing trip: $5
  • Nonresident three-day charter passenger fee: $10
  • Resident lifetime fishing license fee: $300
  • Senior resident lifetime fishing license fee: $50
  • Nonresident lifetime fishing license fee: $3,000